For details of Church Services this week please go to What's Going On (Click on See all other News items ....)
Due to the floods all enquiries please contact the Parish Office Number on 01228 521982 until further notice
History and General Description
The Church stands not east-west but square to the Roman Road north through Carlisle (the A6, in town Blackfriars St). It is therefore of early foundation, perhaps before St Cuthbert's visit to Carlisle in 685. The present Church, probably the fourth on the site, dates from 1778.
It has a unique moving pulpit, a fourteenth century window, a window commemorating our hospitality to a Latvian Lutheran congregation, and a very attractive series of windows depicting the life of St Cuthbert. It is open every day from 10.00 am to 4.00 pm. Our motto is: "Christian Hospitality"